The Quad, c.1940-1945
A view of the Main Building and Quadrangle, dated 1940-1945
This view of the Southwest Texas State Teachers College (now Texas State University) quadrangle is notable for showing the silver roof on the Main Building.
Although Old Main’s red roof is considered iconic today, the roof was metal for the building’s first 44 years of existence. The red roof tiles were added in 1946 as part of campus architect Harvey P. Smith’s master plan to unite the campus in the Spanish Colonial style.
Negative no. SMDR_Undated-4_039
Image from the San Marcos Daily Record Negative Collection.
University Archives, Texas State University.
Digitized and printed by the Digital Media Lab.