Theon and New Corn Hill

Theon is located north of Walburg on the Blackland Prairie of Williamson County. German and Slavic emigrants began settling the area in the 1880s. According to the Handbook of Texas Online, the adjacent community of New Corn Hill developed as a settlement of German, Austrian, Silesian, Moravian, and Bohemian farmers. The centerpiece of New Corn Hill is the Holy Trinity Catholic Church (congregation 1889; building 1913). The church’s twin spires are visible east of I-35 just south of Jarrell. The noted Texas architect, Leo Maria Joseph Dielmann (1881-1969), designed the impressive sanctuary with Gothic influences. Adjacent is a large cemetery with names that reflect the European heritage of the area and includes a central burial plot and monument for priests. Moravian Hall, located to the southeast, still operates as a community center.

August 30, 2020

Theon, Williamson County, Texas

Settled in 1880s

Post office established in 1890; moved to New Corn Hil in 1906

Population 1950-2000 was 20



New Corn Hill, Williamson County, Texas

When the raiload bypassed the town of Corn Hill 1909, new town established closer to Theon and named New Corn Hill